Checking and Savings Accounts
You must be a resident of North Dakota in order to open a checking or savings account. For proof of ND residency, an individual must have a North Dakota driver’s license and a physical address in North Dakota. A business must have a physical address in North Dakota and at least one signatory on the account must be a North Dakota resident.
Deposits are not accepted from individuals whom reside out of state or do not meet these criteria. Additionally, BND does not set up accounts for virtual currency, businesses related to marijuana or hemp growing/distribution and internet gambling businesses.
Federal banking laws and regulations mandate financial institutions to obtain and document the identification and other pertinent information of their customers. In order for BND to meet these regulations, an individual must come to the Bank, located at 1200 Memorial Highway in Bismarck, to open an account.
- You will be asked to show your North Dakota driver’s license
- You may also be asked to provide proof of your address as documented on an electric bill or other type of billing
At that time, we will review the request to open an account. Account opening is subject to approved credit.
Because of our unique structure, it is the Bank’s policy not to compete with the private sector for retail deposits. Therefore, convenience products such as debit cards, credit cards or online bill pay are not offered. BND offers ATM cards, mobile banking, and mobile deposit to individual checking and savings account customers*.
*These services are not available to business customers.
Two types of checking accounts are available.
- Minimum $200 to open the account
- Minimum balance of $200 must be maintained or a $3 fee will be imposed each statement cycle.
- Interest Checking
- Minimum $1,000 to open the account
- Minimum balance of $1,000 must be maintained. If the minimum balance falls below $1,000, a $6 maintenance fee will be imposed each statement cycle
- Your interest rate and annual percentage yield (APY) may change daily. Interest will be compounded monthly and will be credited to your account on your statement date every month
- Daily balance computation method: A daily periodic rate is applied to the principal in the account each day.
- Interest begins to accrue on the business day you deposit noncash items
- Minimum $10 is required to open the account
- Interest will be compounded on the statement cycle date and will be credited to your account on the statement cycle date
- Interest rate and annual percentage yield (APY) may change daily
- Daily balance computation method: The daily periodic interest rate is applied to the principal in the account each day
- Interest begins to accrue on the business day you deposit noncash items, such as checks